Broomball HQ

Use the links below to find more in depth information about the sport of broomball.

History of Broomball

While the history of broomball is rather vague, a few main facts have been widely reported. Broomball as we know it was first played in Canada in the early 1900's by street car workers using a small soccer ball and corn brooms. The sport evolved and was brought down to the United States. The first games were reportedly played in Minnesota, the birthplace of USA Broomball, beginning in the 1930's. Leagues, however did not blossom until the 1960's, when teams like Duffy's flourished. Duffy's, a team from Minneapolis, was the championship team of Minnesota's first state tournament, held in 1966.

Broomball is an Outdoor Sport

Broomball in the United States started out with 10 players on the ice per team (one goalie, three defensemen, three mid-linesmen and three forwards). By 1967, the number of players was reduced to eight players per team. Some leagues still play eight-man broomball. By 1980, the rules changed to six players per team, as the game is played today. Also in 1980, the floating blue line rule came into effect (see the Rules page for the definition of the floating blue line).

From Minnesota, the sport was exposed to other states, such as New York, Ohio, Wisconsin, North Dakota, Iowa and Nebraska. Thanks to the determination of the Minnesota Sports Federation and due to cold winters and its interest in hockey, Minnesota, the "State of Hockey," bears the largest known concentration of broomball teams in the nation. Some of the sport's best teams hail from Minnesota, including Minnesota Red, the 2002 World Cup Champions, and former team USA Blue, a very competitive team that has won countless tournaments throughout North America.